Hiking Highlights in New Zealand

There have been a lot of epic adventures in New Zealand during my visit, but when all is said and done it was the hiking that stirred my soul.  Whether steadily counting stair steps up a steep mountainside, glissading down late summer snow patches or pushing past intense fear to scramble to a summit, each hike was memorable and left me thankful.

Mueller Hut

The terrain and weather found ways to challenge me physically and mentally.  Ultimately if it was a one hour or a multi-day hike, I witnessed landscape views that left me with a huge smile, a loss for words and immense satisfaction.  In the bonus category, as the weeks went on I also found myself becoming fitter and making healthier eating choices.

Trails (or tracks) in New Zealand are incredibly maintained as well.  Even with heavy rains less than a month before my arrival to the south island, slips were partially cleared and temporary bridges installed.  The more popular tracks had rangers stationed in huts nearby, completing daily maintenance on the paths.  Tramping is clearly popular here and the attention and effort put into the network of trails was impressive.

Anyways, this was the overall highlight of my travels through New Zealand.  I loved the scenery, the accomplishments and the time alone with nature.  Now my travel list has grown as I can’t wait to come back for more New Zealand tramping.

(click on the individual pictures for a slideshow!)

This entry was posted in NEW ZEALAND, RTW Destinations and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hiking Highlights in New Zealand

  1. johncoyote says:

    The photos are beautiful. Made me wish for a long field trip into the beauty of New Zealand. Thank you for the photos.

  2. Darren says:

    Nice pic’s, Did you happen to make it to Milford Sound?

  3. gpcox says:

    Looks like a beautiful country, such lovely photos.

Leave a Reply

