Honduras Review

A short 20 days spent in Honduras was well worth it.  This leg took me to six hostels in four destinations: Copan, Utila (Jewel Cay), D&D Brewery (Lago Yojoa) and Comayagua.  I experienced more firsts: I walked away from Honduras with my open water dive certification and my first hitchhiking experience.

D&D Brewery, Lodge, Restaurant

My average daily cost without diving or tours was just under $17/day and closer to $42/day with diving, ruins, and finca tour included.  Without my Kindle, my reading slowed way down to just around two books during these few weeks.  Instead I busted out what little music I brought along on this trip and put Maroon 5’s ‘Payphone’ and Jason Mraz’s ‘I Won’t Give Up’ on repeat.

Best Hostel:

Iguana Azul in Copan – Tucked away in the corner of town, it had clean private rooms for around $16/night, hot showers and a self-wash laundry facility.  No bad hostels to mention.

Favorite Memory:

No contest, swimming with dolphins off the northwest corner of Utila, Bay Islands.

Worst Memory:

Without a doubt, the day of bus travel from Utila to D&D Brewery near Lago Yojoa.  Long story short, I tried to save time by avoiding a big city bus connection and ended up roaming some smaller, random, shady town for two hours trying to catch a bus in the right direction before giving up and catching one to the big city anyways.  Unsettling two hours…

Favorite Picture:

Four O’Clock on this tower clock was written as “IIII” instead of “IV”.  Way to be different, Comayagua.  The clock mechanism is said to be the oldest in Central America.

Doom and Gloom Over Comayagua Cathedral

This entry was posted in CENTRAL AMERICA, Honduras, RTW Destinations, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

