#17.9 My Last Day At Work

TODAY IS MY LAST DAY AT WORK!!!!

My Very Gray Cubicle

I don’t worry about finding a job when I get back (if I ever come back…scientists in Antarctica may need a janitor, never know).  It may be difficult to find something in my  industry then, but overall I’m careful with my savings and know I’ll be okay.

My dear friend, Kristyn, sent me this quote that resonates in my heart:

“Travel is the only thing you buy that makes you richer”

Plus,  I still remember how to create a perfect soft serve ice cream cone or sell some fine china to brides-to-be!  No worries.

It’s bittersweet to be leaving Seattle, which I truly love, and a job that has generated some amazing opportunities and friends this past year+.  If this day had come even two months ago I’d be in a full out panic attack.  Today?  I’m so very ready and excited.

For over 10 years my focus has been math and science related.  Now I’m about to embark on a year of foreign languages, non-technical writing, photography, history, architecture and so much more.   I’m still in awe that the timing and savings have all lined up so perfectly for this opportunity.  I consider myself very lucky and fortunate…and I haven’t even left yet!!!

This entry was posted in Planning & Gear, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to #17.9 My Last Day At Work

  1. Courtney says:

    Horray for your last day of work! So nuts that you’re going be on the road headed to Duluth soon! I’m envious of you, proud of you, excited for you, and scared for me all in one 🙂

  2. Parisa says:

    So happy and excited for you Dawn. Congrats on all you’ve accomplished so far… in your career, hobbies, personal interests, friendships… in a very short 29 years. Good luck on your next amazing adventure!

    Ok, and more importantly, where are we meeting up?!

  3. Darren says:

    We’ll miss you Dawn!!! now go live some life.

    • Thanks, Darren! Can’t wait to see some pics from your upcoming scuba diving trip (fingers crossed it pans out). Stay in touch- Let me know when you and Colleen are ready to meet up in Timbuktu :)!

Leave a Reply

