Getting Started

Unemployed at 27 is not where I had envisioned my life back in high school and college.  I was going to be an astronaut.  No, really.  I spent my four years in college determined to accomplish this goal.  I relished in the accomplishment of floating in micro-gravity aboard NASA’s vomit comet, meanwhile shedding tears over every homework assignment and test.  I didn’t have the guts to admit to myself that this wasn’t making me happy.  After another four years of working in aviation…the dread of Mondays would engulf me on Sundays and weekly crabbiness ensued.  Then last July I went on a trip to Peru with my boyfriend and best friend.  It was an amazing trip and something sparked in me.  When I returned, my company was offering a buy-out and I took it.  I’m not an impulsive person and yet I had to make a change.    I’ve spent this past year wandering…both the globe and in my head.

I’m hoping to contribute to society.  Do something meaningful and maybe even rewarding. And if that’s not asking enough out of life, I’m striving for a life outside of work that is filled with happy relationships, enjoyable hobbies and overall healthiness.  Happiness is the goal. Whatever ‘happiness’ means.   I’m determined to find my own definition of it and maybe you can relate!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Getting Started

  1. Parisa says:

    Looking for answers I can apply in my own pursuits. Or at least looking forward to some good stories 🙂

  2. Kristyn says:

    Yup, I can relate…searching for my definition as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

